Our latest new member is Dennis Knox.

Dennis is a long resident of Matamata, having returned here some years ago after work experience overseas.

Dennis - welcome to the club and enjoy the many varying projects we undertake!



Another milestone in our club's existence! We now have our first members to be awarded their Legion of Honour for 40 years service. What a wonderful achievement for Tom Troughton (left) and Ron Moles (right), pictured here with Lt Governor Mike Powell after the presentation of their pins and certificates.




We have had another member join us - Sarah Urunkar.

Sarah is originally from India. She and husband Sam initially moved to the UK where Dr Sam could complete a surgery degree and they then moved to Christchurch in 1970 and on to Matamata in 1972.

Sarah has already had some contact with the club through donating all of her late husband Dr Sam's medical equipment to Port Vila Hospital in Vanuatu.

Sarah - we hope you will have a rewarding time with our club!



We have another new member - Caroline Mason. Caroline is now retired but taught for many years at Waikato Polytechnic.

Caroline is already quite familiar with Kiwanis activities, particularly our Vanuatu project, as she has already organised a huge shipment of quilts to Vanuatau (and travelled to Port Vila to present them to the local people), and has supplied them with sewing machines (and organised sewing workshops).

Welcome to the club Caroline!



Our latest new member is Sue Tonkin. Sue is Merv Joseph's daughter (see below) and has joined the club since Merv's passing, not only to carry on Merv's legacy but to also to contribute to the club's activities in her own right.

Welcome to the club Sue, and congratulations on carrying on the family tradition of serving the community!



The lastest addition to the Club's Legion of Honor list is Dianne Sinclair. Dianne has served in a number of roles in the club, and is currently in her third term of Presidency.

Congratulations on a well deserved honour Dianne (pictured above with husband and honorary member Russell).



It is with great sadness that we mourn the passing of Merv Josephs recently. Merv joined the Matamata Kiwanis Club in 1975 shortly after the club was chartered. Merv was very passionate about Kiwanis and serving the community, and was one of our most conscientious and hard working members.

Our sympathy is with Nola and family at this time - "Grandad" will be greatly missed by the club.



Our two newest members are Justin Scelly and Heather Bond. Justin is the Manager at Baigent Motors and Heather is the accountant at Edmonds Marshall Lawyers.

Welcome to the club Heather and Justin, we know you will have a rewarding time serving the community!



A recent new member is Linda Patchett. Already Linda has been involved in many projects and was the instigator to us sponsoring a Child Cancer Star of Courage.

Welcome to the club Linda, we hope you will have a rewarding time serving the community!



The Legion of Honor award is achieved by being a member of a Kiwanis club for 25 years.

Our current Legion of Honor members are:

Jim Kyle (25 years), Ken Smith (30 years), Brent Chappell (35 years), Merv Josephs (35 years), Mike Powell (now at the Oceanside Club), Ron Moles (35 years), Tom Troughton (35 years).


Garry King has become a Legion of Honor recipient for 25 years service to the club and our community.

Garry joined the club in 1987 and has been Treasurer since 1992.

Garry was presented with his Legion of Honor by Governor Mike McIvor.


Pictured left is Legion of Honor recipient Brent Chappell, receiving his certificate and brooch from Governor Mike McIvor.

Brent has now served Kiwanis and the Matamata and district community for 35 years!




Jim Kyle

The Griffen Fellowship Award is named after the late John F D Griffen, who was President of the first Kiwanis Club in New Zealand (the Kiwanis Club of Auckland) when the Kiwanis organisation was introduced to New Zealand in 1967. John was also instrumental in helping with the setting up of Kiwanis clubs in Melbourne and Noumea. John became the first District Governor and during his years as President and District Governor, the number of clubs grew from one to fourteen. This prestigious award was introduced in 1998 and recognises service and commitment above and beyond that normally expected of a Kiwanis member.

Jim Kyle became the first member of the Kiwanis Club of Matamata to receive this fellowship. Jim has been a member for over 25 years and has held every office in the club (some more than once), and continues to be as active as ever. Congatulations Jim - a well deserved honour!